2017 Recipients of the Order of New Brunswick

The names of the 2017 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick were announced as part of the official New Brunswick Day celebrations in Edmundston.

“A big part of what makes this province so special is our people. Congratulations to all of the recipients being named to the Order of New Brunswick,” said Premier Brian Gallant. “Through their leadership, work and dedication, they have inspired others and have helped advance the economy, education and health care in New Brunswick.”

The recipients are:

Normand Caissie

Normand Caissie, from Richibucto, for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and the province.

Raimo Kokkonen

Raimo Kokkonen, from Trout Book, for his dedicated commitment to the advancement of the biathlon sport in New Brunswick and for his dedicated service in support of veterans.

Susan Chalmers-Gauvin

Susan Chalmers-Gauvin, from Riverview, for her passion and vision to create Atlantic Canada’s first professional ballet company thereby enhancing the province’s economic potential as well as its cultural diversity and artistic excellence.

Jacqueline Webster

Jacqueline Webster, from Fredericton, for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contribution to the field of journalism.

Dr. Michael Perley

Dr. Michael Perley, from Woodstock First Nation, for his devotion and exemplary patient care, for his contribution to the province’s medical community and his involvement with First Nations communities to ensure the improved delivery of health services.

Measha Brueggergosman

Measha Brueggergosman, from Fredericton, for her achievements in the performing arts and for her contribution to the music community and industry in New Brunswick.

Léopold Thériault

Léopold Thériault, from Tracadie, for being an outstanding leader in steel-structure manufacturing and for his legendary generosity, community engagement and commitment to youth.

Donat Lacroix

Donat Lacroix, from Caraquet, for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of Acadian and francophone culture and traditions through his music.

Erminie Cohen

Erminie Cohen, from Saint John, for her outstanding impact on adoption, her dedication and commitment to volunteerism and her compassion in helping change the lives of New Brunswick’s most vulnerable.

Richard J. Currie

Richard J. Currie, from Rothesay, as a business leader and for his contributions to the social, economic and cultural fabric of New Brunswick through his dedication and significant support of public education.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field. Since 2002, more than 150 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

A ceremony to present this year’s recipients with their awards will be held at Government House this fall.


Sorry, comments are closed for this post.

Giv'er Saint John
2281 King George Hwy
Miramichi NB, E1N 3A6

Website Support & Design by